Diet part two.

Battle gear.

I could give you a comprehensive list of essential kitchen equipment to arm you ready for the fight. But I’m not a middle class Lakeland loving money’s no object jumped up yummy slummy.

If you are disabled and more specifically, if you have MS, the chances are money is not free-flowing and is something that needs to be considered with care. I am also assuming that like me, your potential in the kitchen is limited. You may well be able to recruit a fellow-in-arms such as a spouse or child; which is marvellous. But if you are on your own, it is more difficult.

So I’m now going to close my eyes and offer a basic list of kitchen essentials. Essentials in the sense of what has helped me do battle:

Breadmaker.

Scales.

An adapted cutting board.

Sharp knife.

Poaching pod.

Trolley walker.

If you have a breadmaker that would be great but it can be by-passed if you have time.

Scales would be useful for measuring out things.

The adapted cutting board would be something that can hold a vegetable in place while you slice it.

Sharp knife-I’ve cut myself more often on blunt ones which can slip.

Poaching pod-sorry it’s one thing to order from Lakeland.

Trolley walker for transporting things about.

If you want to buy any of the above, try this site first:

http://www.preloved.co.uk/category/home/2140/kitchens-food-and-drink.html

For example: http://www.preloved.co.uk/adverts/show/114529129/home-help-trolley-walker.html?link=%2Fadverts%2Flist%3Fkeyword%3Dtrolley%2Btray

I must say that one other thing is an electric knife for getting into squash, pumpkin or bigger vegetables.

Other things might crop up as I start going through different foods or food groups. Lastly, as part of this introduction; it’s very handy to count calories. I use this:

http://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/weight-loss-guide/Pages/calorie-counting.aspx

The great calorie debate.

How many calories should you aim for?

As far as food goes, I have a rough idea of 1000 a day. A lot of recommendations go for between 1400-1600 (for a male). So I give myself 1000 because I know there are some less obvious ones around. I do like a glass or two of wine but watch out for the social button. Just because your fit and healthy mate is necking it doesn’t make it all right for you. Unless you really want to, but it can set you back a bit.

Advice button.

Everyone may have their own ideas and you have yours. Even if you don’t ask for it, advice will come in spades. It’s your diet-your war. It’s just something else to handle.

Now. Are you going to write a list of foods you want to keep and foods you want to forfeit (albeit temporarily)? Are you going to alternate foods so you don’t miss out on favourites?

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

