A smooth weekend?

The weekend was hot. “Hooray,” we all shouted. A proper summer has arrived. I love the heat myself but it is not a two-way affair. For someone like me, it immobilises  the brain. If you can imagine my brain as an electrical circuit, the heat melts the plastic around the wiring. But there are ways and means of combating the dreaded oven effect. Sitting down and doing nothing is a good way. I’ve always been able to do that and now I can do it guilt-free. And that was my Saturday. Good job I like test cricket. but the weekend started on Friday morning.

The glorious summer sun blazed a vision of warm conviviality, inviting me into the amiable comfort of a fine July morning. Sunset-forest-grass-warm-sun_1920x1080As one comes back into the zone of consciousness, the day’s duties and pleasures ripple slowly through the mind. Then a shadow appears. A sense of dread springs into the heart. Bells ring. “Already?”

It was the bringer of great tidings. My indoor wheelchair was being replaced. It was being replaced at eight fifteen in the morning. We all know the blind panic of trying to gather together some semblance of decency in order to answer the front door. I grabbed a t-shirt. But there was no chance for the trousers. That takes an age at any time. It was the draping of my dressing-gown over my lower regions that saved the day.

The delivery man must have been the most polite, reassuring accommodating delivery man I had ever met. He put it together for me and took the old one away. It gives me great hope for the future of humankind to have had the pleasure of dealing with a man like this. He had a kind doctor’s bedside manner.

The chair has extended my powers beyond my imagination. It rises. It’s called Pheonix. 20160716_154430What a brilliant start to the day. In the afternoon I had some extended quality time with Rose. I was able to get into her old bedroom, now playroom and play with her.

The great feel good Friday continued. I built a chicken curry. I was on a roll. (Literally) Now to Saturday. Saturday was hotter. But I was floored. The thing about MS is that if you defy it, it will get you back. Saturday was payback day. I had to go shopping. But I couldn’t move. Now this is what you call a friend: My old mate Steve came back from a day of singing at Westminster Abbey to take me up to Morrisons. It had been a gruelling day but he came straight around and helped me to the supermarket. Just like the enormous favour my mate Pete did for me the week before. I’m a lucky man.

Now for the Sunday. I always feel that I have to earn my first cup of tea of the day. Usually, it’s doing some washing/clearing-up sort of domestic chore. What did I want to do? I wanted to fold up the travelling chair and give it a temporary home behind the little table against the wall. It took two hours but I did it. Man mountain Benny flexed his wasting muscles and kicked ass with the furniture. 20160717_192841I felt renewed energy. So I made a beast of a coleslaw. Carrots, celeriac, beetroot, cabbage, dijon mustard, mayonnaise and lemon juice. I’ve got a lot left. I’ve still got some energy but not for long.

Thank-you for reading.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

1 thought on “A smooth weekend?”

Leave a Reply

