Things I can do

I can do pulled pork. I have this sensational mini cooker which can do everything. It was fifty pounds or something. But the other day, I sat placidly by my kitchen table preparing everything. Remember I’m essentially one handed but I have some very useful tools.

download-1

This knife sharpener, £16.45, renders any knife into a super sharp precision blade. It doesn’t last long with cheaper knives but you can always sharpen them again. It makes onion peeling a doddle. Then I have the mother of all garlic crushers.

61o8k2evpol-_sl1500_-1
£11.20

There is no need to peel, just grit your teeth and squeeze. Anyway, I prepared a rub of cumin, turmeric, pepper and sugar and bathed my sad bit of Danish pork leg; it was bought in error as Denmark’s reputation for porcine welfare is appalling. Then it was seared in a dry pan which was the inside of my non-stick multi cooker ready for the cooking sauce. Here we go:

Tablespoonful amounts of:

Pomegranate molasses.

Balsamic vinegar.

Chipotle sauce.

Salt and pepper.

Treacle.

Garlic.

Ground ginger.

Paprika.

Tomato puree.

And anything else you deem to be sticky icky dicky to give this poor animal a dignified send off. It all went into the cooker and stuck on 100 degress at about 14.30 yesterday. This morning I added some apples in big chunks and finally got to eat it at around 19.45 tonight. Mother mercury it was deep and rich and mmmmmmmmmmmm. (That’s a technical term.) But the best thing was the ease of preparation. I’m sorry there is no photo. The camera lost the race. The rest of it is all boxed up ready for the freezer.

Thank-you for reading.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

