Falafels

I’m not blowing a trumpet and I’m not wiggling my head in smugness. The notion of the smug wiggle is very much a scouse thing. I was brought up on Merseyside and it is a common occurrence. It is an endearing characteristic . I imagine myself doing it but only because it reminds me of home.

I only have one operational hand. It’s the right hand. The left can help but the right needs to put it in position first. Tedious! But I have a wheelchair and a kitchen. I also have a food processor. Now I’m going to make my debut as a recipe writer:

Falafels:

1lb dried chick peas (soaked overnight.)

1 small onion quartered.

2/3 cloves of peeled garlic.

1 tsp ground coriander. 1 tsp ground cumin.

1/4 tsp dried chilli powder.

Juice of 1 lemon.

Salt to taste.

Chopped fresh coriander.

Cacik:

1 tomato sliced.

1/4 cucumber sliced into small pieces.

1 clove of garlic crushed.

Chopped fresh mint and coriander to taste.

Salt to taste.

3 tbs of greek style yoghurt.

1 tbs Tahini paste. (If you don’t have it some smooth peanut butter will do or you could just leave it out.)

Pitta bread:

100g strong bread flour.

100g strong stone ground wholemeal flour.

1 tsp dried yeast.

1 tsp salt.

1 tsp sugar

120 ml water.

Methods

Falafels

Put all the ingredients in a food processor and blitz until you get a grainy paste. Cover and refrigerate. When ready to cook; shape into flattish balls. Heat a frying pan with 1 cm of a good oil. I use a small pan to avoid a plethora of oil. Even a saucepan will do because the oil only needs to be medium. Fry until golden brown. Allow to drain on kitchen paper. You’ll need some extra kitchen towel for your hands. I hate a mucky joystick.

Pitta bread:

If you have a bread machine stick it on pizza dough mode. Usually about 45 minutes. If no bread, maker knead the dough for about ten minutes on a floured surface until it is smooth and elastic. I’ve been able to knead dough quite easily with one hand. The trick is to think small. I couldn’t do it as well with double the amount of flour. Leave to rise until doubled in size. Set out on a floured surface and divide into 4. Roll each portion into a pitta shaped blob and leave on an oiled baking tray for 15 minutes. I rolled it quite thinly. At one stage I thought it was too thin but the result was brilliant. Bake at 210 for 15-20 minutes and store in a clean kitchen towel.

Cacik.

Mix all the ingredients in an aesthetically pleasing bowl.

To serve. Stick all the stuff into a pitta bread and make satisfied grunts as you fill your face with such wonderful contrasting textures and flavours. All the ingredients are inter-changeable so you can add your own favourites. Just don’t add too much; this is about textures and blends. If you have no chick peas, you can use butter beans. Dried is better because it only needs soaking and not boiling.

img_4620
The lovely fresh grassy Spanish white is optional.

If you’re a bit OCD like me, it helps to load the dishwasher as you go along. I like a tidy work area. It’s even better if you have someone to help you with this because they can learn to do it as well and give you an evening off. It also reduces the need for a dishwasher. The best tip I can give is to play music while you cook.

Thank-you for reading.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

