Major meat

After posting about falafels, I’m heading down the meat road. This is major meat. It’s a big outdoor reared organic brisket joint. I order from Market Porter because I don’t eat too much meat but I want the doomed animals to have had a natural life. I feel a vegetarian versus carnivore blog coming on.

I tend to cook big and fill the freezer. because I’m a bit exhausted from all the kitchen activity today I’m taking the quick route. Here it is. Beef rendang.

Ingredients:

img_4628
On the right is tamarind paste. The writing is a bit small.
img_4632
In the bowl is ginger, garlic, chilli and a bit of creamed coconut I found in the fridge.

Add some ground turmeric, coriander and cumin then put all but the meat into a food processor and blitz into a paste.

 

img_4638
Noe the spectacles in the background to give that Nigel Slateresque casual but authoritative chic
img_4641
Here is the big boy beef.

I also used coriander stalks but they’re not very photogenic. Then I used this little beauty.IMG_4643.JPG

It’s a multi stove so I fried the paste before untying the meat and sticking it in. There’s no need to chop because it’s going to be in there overnight on 100 C. And most of tomorrow. If you don’t have the bed sit special oven you could use a casserole pot in a low oven.

Tomorrow I will adjust the seasoning and be tucking in by the evening.

 Thank-you for reading.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

