A day’s cooking

If you ever have a day free when you’re up early and have a bit of energy, you could do a bit of laid back cooking. This does not get too involved and you can take your time. I did this today. There was no stress or mess.

img_4819
The aftermath.

I did have the day to myself but I wanted to be creative. You could do this with your other half or a friend or just on your own with some good music in the background; although for me, music is never a background. Last night I unleashed a lamb half shoulder from the freezer. It was a Tesco New Zealand job of just under a kilo. ~(£7.00 I think.) This morning, I prepared its coating. This was easy. I can only use one hand and I’m restricted to a wheelchair and it was trouble free. At the time the dishwasher was busy from the previous night’s indulgences so I kept a neat tidy pile ready to go in.img_4815

Here are my players. First I sliced onion and tomato for a base Then I built the paste. Turmeric, coriander, cumin and garam masala powder went into a little bowl. Then it was time for the crushed garlic (two cloves) and chopped ginger.(A lot) I love my ginger chunky so it saves time on the chopping. Here is a family portrait of the lamb’s coating:IMG_4794.JPGTucked in there is tamarind paste. It gives a real piquancy to the actual dish. (Sorry, that was a bit of a twatty thing to say.) I squeezed some lime juice in as well. At nine thirty this morning, with final additions of tomato puree and yoghurt, I completed the paste before coating the lamb with its bed of tomato and onion, wrapped it in foil and put it in a low oven. About 120c is the norm for a whole day’s roasting. I had intended to make a complete parcel of it and use the slow cooker but with one good hand and a flappy left hand I made complete mess with the foil. Along with parchment paper and cling film, foil is the devil’s work. So I was going to be all smug and describe how I used a deep baking dish to help form the parcel. The parcel was to save on the washing up; which it did, even in the oven.  And that was it.

Eight hours later there was a gorgeously tender flavoursome lamb curry.

img_4811I used a deseeded green chilli so it was mildly warming.

img_4796 To go with it I roast some cauliflower and broccoli after dousing it in a spiced oil and yoghurt mix.

There was also a side dish of tomatoes, cumin seeds and finely chopped onion with a little red wine vinegar and sugar.

img_4827But I’d scoffed most of that while the veg was cooking. On the whole the standard  measure was a teaspoon of spices and four tablespoons of yoghurt. With the tomato puree I just did a satisfying big squeeze.

You can use any basic flavour to go with this style of lamb. Moroccan or Italian is good. You can even go further east with more oriental spices, coconut and lemon grass. Adding sliced almonds or any white milky nuts will add more texture. Brain fog prevents me from remembering the name of the ones slightly bigger that peanuts. Grrr.  But the day was cool and needed smooth soft flavours. I’m not going to stress about the name of those nuts.

Thank-you for reading.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

