The paradise club

Last night I stepped into the sunshine of the Paradise Club. The sun blazed a brilliant white. This light let me see everything. I could see honesty and sincerity in the abundance of smiles. People came to me and asked me about my being. I spoke at length of the burdens and worries which once held me back. They had evaporated away into the brightness around me. I was free to laugh without the shackles of satire. The barriers had melted into the joy of my surroundings. Nothing was impossible.

I could move freely without the pain of anxiety. I wasn’t going to fall. I was as light as a feather. I became as generous as my friends. I gave time to listen and share their hopes and fears. I could wipe away tears and give strength to their wishes.

No-one spoke loudly but what they said travelled far. The merging of like minds and intentions was gathering strength. Minute by minute, our collective was growing. We were talking away hate and bitterness. Greed and naked ambition became too insignificant to matter. There was no leader. We were all leaders. The shadows of the past began to emerge. They were met with hindsight and honesty. Every day was a day to learn. I had the joy of a galloping horse feeling the bounce of my hooves across an open field. There were no barriers.

When I awoke this morning I was met with darkness. Where had my light gone? My dream had been euphoric. But now I was back in the morning. And back in my broken body and the uncertainty of a future reliant on an ever diminishing system of social care. Those I had met in the light of my dream were my carers. They cared for me; not the triplicate forms they were chained to. They wanted me to succeed.

But everyone can be like this. We have plenty of time. It only takes an instant to smile and listen. We can all demonstrate our reasons to trust ourselves and show the faith to triumph. Don’t discount or judge people. We can be cautious but open and trusting yet conscious. The collective effort is a long held dream of many. We can all work towards it.

Look at teams; not just the uniformed bodies kicking or hitting their ball around with angry feet and willowy sticks. Look at the co-ordinated efforts in the NHS and the emergency services. Look at their ground workers and their total dedication. Can’t we spread this to the rest of the world?

This morning I ached from the never ending effort of independent movement. My bones creaked as I threw myself into the wheelchair. Oh what a friend it is. Slowly, I cleared the aftermath of the previous night’s indulgence. It was a drink with my old friend. But I cleared it and prepared a day of contentment.

We’ve all been dealt with terrible blows. It’s a brutal life sometimes. But it’s a precious life. We can be like my dream. Let us create a team of trust and generosity. Let us eschew the shallow and embrace the warmth we all have within us.

Thank-you for reading.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

