Slip sliding away

Saturday was not the best. For starters, Everton could only draw. It was countered by a brilliant rugby match. The kitchen duties were a little testing. With the intention of creating a chilli bean stew, I put a variety of beans into a bowl to soak overnight. But my sleep was troubled. I had the idea that the chick peas would take longer to soften and I’d be left with nice chick peas and a cannellini barlotti pinto bean mush. It took some time to separate the chick peas but I did it. I was on borrowed time due to fatigue but I kept telling myself I could do it.

Reader, I did it. I had chilli bean stew with sirloin steak. Then I missed match of the day.

Around 12.30 am I decided to retire but on raising the seat, I slipped off the chair and became that familiar entity, the crumpled mess on the floor. The para medics took an hour and a half to arrive and what a pair of miserable buttocks they were.

When I explained what had happened I don’t think they believed me. They implied that I was wasting their time. Give me strength. The last thing I want to do is sit on a hard floor when I need a soft bed.

My blood pressure is down to 110 over 60. Does that explain the recent dizziness? Then one of them mentioned the nearby bottle of whisky. It was a loaded statement. No, I’m not a heavy drinker but it helped get through the eternity of waiting for them to arrive.

I have a chronic illness and if I want a drink, I’ll bloody well have one. Well they dragged me up and didn’t bother taking their grubby little rubber blue gloves with them. They left them on the spare chair.

Now today has been a struggle. I emerged from the pit at 3.30 pm annoyed with missing some of the football. But it’s yummy breakfast time because the conference pears are ripe for eating.

At 8.00 this evening I had some home made focaccia and a bit of olive oil. Then I remembered the sausages. Oh yes! Pork bangers and Dijon mustard. What a treat. I had intended to make a variety of hummus today but the chair was calling. I boiled yet more chick peas and left them in the fridge. And that my friends is the sum of my weekend’s activity. I’m on the edge.

Thank-you for reading.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

