Lambs’ heart stew.

I found two lambs’ hearts in the freezer so I thought it would be an appropriate challenge for the slow cooker. When I was at school, I remember my mum putting whole trimmed hearts into a bowl with onions celery and potatoes before she left for work. We’d come home to a succulent dish of soft hearts and tasty veg. It was quick and it was cheap. Cheap was good; mum had to work full time along with Dad just to keep us clean, fed and clothed. Well I noticed the price tag for two hearts was £1.20. Still cheap. So I scrabbled about the fridge and freezer for odds and ends; you know, keeping the cheap theme going.

IMG_5115Two lambs’ hearts trimmed and chopped

Two rashers of bacon, chopped.

Half a sweet potato

Four small cooked beetroots

Tinned tomatoes

A good squeeze of tomato puree

Three cloves of garlic

A cupful of red lentils

Three tbs of Balsamic vinegar

2 tsps of Dijon mustard

1tsp of paprika

1 tsp of cumin powder

2 carrots

Two medium onions

2oo ml of water

 

Trim the fat of the hearts and slice into chunks.

Roughly chop the root vegetables. Fry the onions and meat in oil, if only for a sense of doing something useful. Make a runny paste out of the spices, mustard and vinegar. Put every thing into the slow cooker and leave for an eternity. Keep an eye on the level of liquid. When the lentils have cooked down add salt and pepper to taste. Heart is quite a strong flavoured meat but if you like offal it should be right up your street. If you don’t fancy heart, you can use meatballs or diced lamb. I you don’t fancy meat use something like chick peas and diced extra firm tofu. To contrast with the richness of the sauce you can serve it with plain rice, fresh tomato and a good squeeze of lemon or lime. Cous cous, bulgar wheat or quinoa can replace the rice or even add some thin slices of mango. I had the price at about £4.17 for the stew. A bottle of balsamic vinegar is £1.95 but it will last as a condiment.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

