Benefits

I watched an episode of Benefits Britain the other day. I was rendered speechless by the blatant greed of two of the subjects. They expected support and reward for merely existing. They had screwed themselves into a mind set of rights without responsibility. With their constant cigarettes and missing teeth (dentists cost money), they were playing the system. They alluded to mental frailties and minor physical ailments as their excuse to sit back and just expect.

It was shameless. I know a scrounger when I see one. I’m not talking about the sensationalised cases we see on programmes like this. We’ve no idea about any added extras for a heightened sense of drama. I’m talking about people I have met. Now this is where it gets tricky. Some have genuine mental and physical health issues and some need a kick up the Londonderry Air. Some need to take responsibility and some need to be guided into responsibility.

I have since watched part of another episode about ex prisoners. It really dragged me through a myriad of visceral reactions. This is an unimaginable existence. Experience and knowledge is forcing me to avoid any sort of unqualified condemnation. But there is an air of expectation and exploitation on the part of the people featured and those actually making the programme.

They live in areas we tend to avoid. They live in conditions we may deem unfit for animals. And they all smoke.

f5295d3db2d01604f9722f312643ed03Can’t you just feel the rising heckles of outrage?

The royal we learnt the value of working for what we want; day in day out, going to work and managing our lives within the dignity of being employed.

Have a look at some of these programmes. They’re on Channel five demand. You don’t need to watch the whole thing. You may even be touched by someone’s generosity. I’ve seen real life parallels in the past. I haven’t really expressed an opinion; just a passing whiff of contempt. I don’t know any answers. All I know is extreme gratitude for the help I have for being disabled.

Thank you for reading.

Author: mcchrystalise

Because of MS, (it's a swine of a thing) I no longer work because I no longer work. I blog about the things I think about. I love music.

Leave a Reply

